Line Check

Here is a song called “Line Check“, which seems to me now like it’s about impatience. Seeking the goal too quickly and not watching the scenery.

It’s a couple years old and was not too much of a hit with Baby Teeth, largely because its parts don’t really hang together. But then again, the members of the Li’l Rascals gang were quite different from one another, and they got along splendidly. Truly, you never can tell. The arrangement develops nicely I think, in a way that evokes the demos of Jim Cooper, even if the various parts are not exactly bacon and eggs.

Dig the faux-Stephen Malkmus sprechgesang technique that first rears its head at 1.24. Years of conservatory training finally paying off.

Comments
7 Responses to “Line Check”
  1. The Bubble King says:

    Boop boopee doo!

    Some of these older demos you’ve posted recently sound like they have midi tracks to me… but… you didn’t know how to use that back then… maybe you just play as tightly as a computer! That kinda skill should be used on ninjaing.

    I don’t detect the clashing in this song you seemed to allude to. Maybe I misunderstood, but it seems pretty smooth and cohesive to me.

  2. andrew says:

    I’ve been listening to these every week and not posting much, but I need to mention how much I love this one!

    Also, end-of-year lists will be up in a couple weeks on the Post-Rockist and I’ve already written a blurb about “The Simp” in my picks so keep an eye out.

  3. Abraham says:

    bb king: thanks man! the drums are of course on a loop, I’m not playing them live. but yeah, otherwise, I’m just staring intently at my elle macpherson poster and concentrating as hard as I can. glad you like it.

    andrew: thank you sir! that’s great to hear…. I will check into post-rockist posthaste.

  4. Jonny Mess says:

    Short and to the point: I like this one a lot.

  5. Abraham says:

    thanks jonny. this is what I come up with when I “try to write a hit”. still fairly round-the-bend, but yeah, it is a little more direct than usual.

  6. Heather says:

    I’m trying to reach you – involvement in exhibit/booking a show in PGH
    pearly@ bounced back. can we get in touch with one another.

    How much did you think the Heather thing would come back to haunt you? Haha, dig yr music want you to be in a show + to bring you to the Burgh. Check out our plug for you…i-am-a-heather.com

    regards, Heather

  7. Abraham says:

    hey there heather… thanks for reaching out! I’ll talk it over with the dudes.

Leave a Reply

