Kill You

Happy new year one and all! OK, so it looks like I will meet my deadline (of posting sometime on Monday) according to Central time, but not Eastern. So, many apologies to my good friends on the Right Coast…. surely you must regard me as a supreme cad!

This week’s selection, “Kill You“, is old as the hills. I used to perform it when I had a solo residency at the Hideout. It’s also a special song for me, since it’s the song that I was singing when I met my girlfriend. During this dark ballad, the entire room was seated except for her — she was up dancing around in her inimitable way. Owing to the song’s title, I walked over to her and began simulating strangulation with the microphone cord. Pretty tender, huh… we hadn’t even spoken yet! Ah, life.

Lyrically, this is a tale of extreme romantic dysfunction, opening with,

You and me
We trust each other to fall
You and me
Don’t trust each other at all
A relationship based on supreme confidence in the other’s incompetence and untrustworthiness, but each one sticks it out due to the comfort level. They’re never going to break up. So, the only way to end it is through murder. The song ends with, “Now I’m going to kill you / Until you’re gone.” This song is my contribution to the rich tradition of murder ballads… this one is probably set in a home crystal-meth lab in Idaho. The title references the Eminem song of the same name (which was current at the time).
It appears now that I was singing with an exaggerated Jagger impersonation. (Although, because Jagger himself is an exaggeration, perhaps that’s impossible.) The bass line, played on a B-3 emulator, nicks from “It’s Too Late” by Carole King.
Hey, I’d love to stay and chat, but I’m in severe danger of missing the Central time-zone deadline as well, so, ta-ta!
Comments
12 Responses to “Kill You”
  1. The Bubble King says:

    How old is the recording?

    That’s a pretty good Lara story.

    Shit, I was trying to think of the name of that Eminem song recently, and just couldn’t think of it. Pretty obvious, duh! I assume at the Hideout residency, you finished with a rapped verse like “you don’t wanna fuck with Pearly…” or something, yeah?

  2. You charmer, you! Or should I say, ladykiller? It’s amazing, the things that will attract girls, I’m glad you found that mock strangling worked with Lara.

    Jagger’s voice is difficult, and made even more difficult because as you hear it you think “I could emulate that.” But it’s not like Tom Petty or Bob Dylan or Tom Waits, who do in fact have easily emulated voices. Jagger has that weird strain, that beautiful just-on-the-verge-of-coughing desperation, that is just so hard. I tried “Mother’s Little Helper” at karaoke one time, and by the time it was over, my confidence in my ability to do Jagger was, ahem, “shattered.” Thank you, ladies and gentlemen.

  3. Abraham says:

    b b king: the recording is probably a good three years old. I’m glad you liked that story. I said to myself, “that girl’s got some moves.” and yeah, the whole crowd (all eight people) were totally chanting along with my freestyle verse at the end. TO-tally.

    P M S: yes, it is amazing. I found that mock-strangling tip in a love advice column on nerve.com. I agree that jagger is wicked hard to imitate. it’s a voice that conveys many things: dissipation, decadence, immense wealth… how do vowel sounds communicate so much? as for karaoke, I stick to one song only: “I hate everything about you” by ugly kid joe.

  4. The Bubble King says:

    Dear Abraham,

    I was once told that you and Lara dated briefly, then went separate ways ONLY TO BE REJOINED BY THE FORCES OF FATE. Is this true? I assume that this must have been before all of that if so.

    Also, did I write you an e-mail about how you compared my voice to Cat Stevens? I meant to, because it brought up some interesting points in my mind that night I had to rush home somewhat prematurely. But I can’t remember if I actually got around to writing.

  5. Lara says:

    Yes, BB King, we were separated for a while, but then rejoined once again not by fate but by Abraham’s microphone cord, which he used (once again) as a lasso while following me all over town, dragging me from potentially romantic situations with other dudes. The straw broke the camels back while I was ordering a coffee at Starbucks one morning, chatting with the young, healthy male barista who I thought was maybe gonna ask me for my digits, and suddenly the cord was around my neck. I blacked out that time. When I finally came to Abraham was cradling me in his arms in some dark, damp, basement, chanting “you’ll never get away from me again, promise me, promise me,” and finally I was like, “Jeez. Okay. I promise.” So then we went out for milkshakes and I was like, this ain’t so bad. It’s amazing that a song about a totally dysfunctional relationship could ignite such a functional one. Life is strange and delightful.

  6. KatiaSilver says:

    I remember when you came home and told me about that, Larry! We talked about it in our bathroom doorway on the Herm. I said, “I think this is the guy for you.” And you said, “I know.” And you knew.
    I think, in your collective heart, you were always together.
    Like that song, “Together Forever” by Rick Assley. How’s it go?

  7. The Bubble King says:

    Why KatiaLumpSum, I thought you’d never ask!

    “Together Forever” by Rick Astley

    If there’s anything you need
    All you have to do is say
    You know you satisfy everything in me
    We shouldn’t waste a single day

    So don’t stop me falling
    It’s destiny calling
    A power I just can’t deny
    It’s never changing
    Can’t you hear me I’m saying
    I want you for the rest of my life

    Together forever and never to part
    Together forever we two
    And don’t you know
    I would move heaven and earth
    To be together forever with you

    If they ever get you down
    There’s always something I can do
    Because I wouldn’t ever wanna see you frown
    I’ll always do what’s best for you

    There ain’t no mistaking
    It’s true love we’re making
    Something to last for all time
    It’s never changing
    Can’t you hear me I’m saying
    I want you for the rest of my life

    Together forever and never to part
    Together forever we two
    And don’t you know
    I would move heaven and earth
    To be together forever with you

    So don’t stop me falling
    It’s destiny calling
    A power I just can’t deny
    It’s never changing
    Can’t you hear me I’m saying
    I want you for the rest of my life

    Together forever and never to part
    Together forever we two
    And don’t you know
    I would move heaven and earth
    To be together forever with you

    Together forever and never to part
    Together forever we two
    And don’t you know
    I would move heaven and earth
    To be together forever with you

    (end transcript)

    It’s great to see you here at the Abrahamusiblog!

  8. The Bubble King says:

    Dear Lara and Abraham:

    Great love story. Both of you are awesome, and I’m glad to have met you.

    The barista story reminded me of something I’ve been thinking lately. And this is: “Doesn’t it seem like a male barista should be called a baristo?”

  9. Abraham says:

    wow! what a torrent! what a stream! where to begin?

    b b king: yes, lara’s and my relationship is indeed a two-round affair! the second round has been my preference so far. as for your voice resembling a stevens cat, I would love to hear what you’re thinking. I definitely stand by it.

    lara: I agree with the part about life being strange and delightful. like, who would’ve thought I’d’ve gotten so used to typing with a cat on my lap?

    katiasilver: yes indeed, welcome to this forum on songwriting. thank you kindly for bringing up one of my true heroes, rick assley. my calling card in fifth grade was my rick assley impersonation.

    b b king: thanks for reprinting the lyrics to that great work by rick assley. also, an interesting comment about a baristo. we’d have to ask someone with more of a knowledge of italian.

    whew! as big daddy kane once quipped, bloggin’ ain’t easy. now I’m all tired.

  10. The Bubble King says:

    Sorry, gotta put my foot down Lump and Abe:

    Astley has a T in it. My mom has the CD, I should know!

  11. KatiaSilver says:

    It’s “ASS-ley.”
    And we all know that your “mom” really means you, bb.
    I’d like to hear that impersonation, though…maybe that can be worked into the next song?

  12. Abraham says:

    maybe. my assley impersonation was the best in my fifth-grade class, but I’ve heard better impersonations since then, so I’m not sure if I can still stand among giants.

Leave a Reply

