Lose My Head

Here’s “Lose My Head,” a slice of purely disposable pop for all you now people out there. While I was intending this track to welcome in the season of top-down joyriding, I conveniently forgot that I live in Chicago. So, even though this weekend’s temperatures hung slump-shouldered in the rainy thirties, we move ahead with our program.

The first eight seconds (wasn’t that a movie?) constitute a “psych-out,” if you will: a red herring of psychedelia, predisposing the listener to expect heartier fare. What follows, however, is strictly bubblegum (wasn’t that a movie?). The song’s strength, if it has one, is its giddy disposability… as it roller-skates by, it waves to Redd Kross, the Archies, and the Nuggets compilation, stopping just long enough to rip off a piece of “Take on Me” and the “Someone Saved My Life Tonight” sample from Kanye West’s “Good Morning.” Other than those errands, its main mission is to get to the Seven Eleven to get a King Size Snickers and an orange soda.

I was inspired to write this song via a music-industry pal who told me that, if I really wanted my music to get licensed for commercials and movies, then I should make music that makes people feel good, and preferably that even describes people feeling good. “Oh, I can do that,” I thought, “that’s easy!” Uhh…. well, I made it through most of the tune without any downer lyrics, but then I couldn’t resist inserting the words, “Somedays I don’t wanna get out of bed,” just to break things up and make myself laugh. That’s why I live in Chicago, after all…. sunshine and bubblegum can be so terribly monotonous.

Comments
11 Responses to “Lose My Head”
  1. The Bubble King says:

    I did not realize you were interested in being licensed to TV and movies. What your friend says is true! And then, sometimes it’s just about being the CD that is the current favorite of the artist/director/producer or even editor who is doing the show/commercial/film.

    Also, I understand that if you are good at just layin’ down tracks, you can sell CDs full of McSongs to various entities who make videos and need music. RØB and I know a guy who has done this sort of thing, and apparently one can yield upwards of $1500 for a CD full of music!

    Anyway, great craft as always. I like that little intro. I also like that little siren-wow noise going on during some of the choruses (wait, was that the chorus? I’l listen again later).

  2. You’re awfully quick to shrug off a well-crafted song as “disposable” just because it’s pop! Give yourself a little credit. THEN, give yourself a little ice cream. BONANZA!

  3. The Bubble King says:

    I have to agree with Pancakesy here a bit. I mean, Cyndi Lauper still gets tons of airplay, right? Why? Cuz she’s awesome.

    Just cuz you write a pop tune doesn’t make you Paula Abdul.

  4. Bubbles is right to agree with me, and regarding Cyndi Lauper. As for the Paula Abdul remark, I’d venture to say “…and even if it did, so what?”

  5. Lara says:

    I can totally hear this song trail off as the opening credits fade and the camera zooms in on Lindsay Lohan walking her dog on the beach, juggling a cell phone and to-go coffee, about to collide with her future husband. Maybe J-Lo? As awful as that sounds, I really do like this song. I love pop music. And I love the little repetitive ‘whoo’s ( I don’t know how to describe those) – they’re very fun. Summer ’08, here we come!

  6. Abraham says:

    BB King: Thanks for the advice! Although I’ve gotta say, I’d have mixed feelings about giving away a CD full of music for use in perpetuity for a one-time fee of $1500. Sorta reminds me of the raw deal I gave MC Beth for her work on “I Need Love.”

    P M S: No, I love pop music…. I would never write something off for being pop. I just write things off because they’re new, and/or because I made them. I’m self-deprecating by nature (protective instinct), and I have a fear of all things new. So that’s all that’s going on. And dude…. if I could write a song as good as Paula Abdul’s “Straight Up,” believe me, I would be quite pleased!!

    Ara-Lai: That movie sounds like a true TBS SuperStation classic. I would love to be affiliated with it in any possible way. I’m glad you like the WHOOs…. I just had to find a way to pump up that chorus, so I went for the easiest possible solution: sound effects! Summer ’08 is coming like a Mack truck… how about that weather today!!

  7. The Bubble King says:

    Ok I’ll admit it.

    I actually own two Paula Abdul records.

  8. Jonny Mess says:

    I listened to this song on Monday and couldn’t shake it, so now I’m back listening to it lots today. That’s the opposite of disposable, to my mind.

  9. Abraham says:

    BB King: That works for me.

    J Mess: Thanks my man! Yeah, I guess it’s better if your disposable stuff at least has some stickiness to it.

  10. Judah says:

    I downloaded “Straight Up” when I first got iTunes and was disappointed, though I think it was less the song than her performance of it. My teenage crush on her recedes further and further into the distance with each passing day.

    As a TV-theme song aficianado (I’m thinking “Perfect Strangers” — “it’s my life/and my dreams/and nothing’s gonna stop me now…”), there are things I like about this one.

    My instinctive response is that the music goes far enough to convey the sweet-summer-pop aura, and perhaps it would work better with pithier, Levitanian lyrics. I’m not saying that the music and message need to be at irony-laden odds with one another, just that more substance might serve the song well. I’m also not saying that the lyrical simplicity should fall by the wayside: I liked the first verse and chorus in particular. The transition to the chorus and the other verses didn’t do it as much for me — narrative, but without a Big-Schools story to back it up.

    I like the idea of the lyrics being emotional but perhaps also more impressionistic and abstractly evocative of the mood you’re trying to convey (like what you say above about going down to the 7-11 for a snickers and orange soda above; more Bruce, less Pink, which averages out roughly to good Kelly Clarkson, perhaps?).

  11. Abraham says:

    Right, right, I can hear what you’re saying. There is an absence of lyrical detail here that is probably a negative. I also appreciate the first appearance (to my knowledge) of “Levitanian” as an adjective.

Leave a Reply

