Game Over

This track, “Game Over,” exemplifies a common trend in my creative process: intending something simple and ending up with something weird instead. I set out to do a few things here. First, I was inspired by an ominous bit of graffiti in the alley across from the Logan Square YMCA that read “GAME OVER” in black spray-paint, with no further explanation. From there, I tried to write an 80s, Eurythmics-style midtempo soft-rocker, ideally limiting myself to three chords (there is a fourth one that creeps up in the chorus, I’m ashamed to say). The “woo, ah-woo” vocals that open the song are my tribute to the Redwalls’ song “Deep in the Heart,” which contains a great “ah-woo woo” break of its own.

In any case, after not listening to it for 36 hours or so, it sounds much weirder and more gothic than I remember. As if it’s being sung by some lonely bureaucrat from 1970s East Germany on a slow night at the state-sponsored karaoke bar. (Yes, I am thinking of the great film “The Lives of Others” at the moment.) It also sounds a little slower than I intended it, but maybe that adds to its disorienting effect. Your thoughts?

Comments
10 Responses to “Game Over”
  1. Lara says:

    Totally disorienting. There’s definitely a hungover feeling about this song – a thick, luxurious hangover. I like it’s moodiness, and the desperation of the narrator. I like the persistent rhythm behind the chorus. A nice steady ride through some serious misery we can all relate too…well, those of us who’ve had our hearts broken, at least.

  2. Lara says:

    Also, while Abraham was working on this song I was lying on the couch with an exhausting cold, watching a Hilary Duff movie on TBS and waiting for him to finish so he could bring me tea. The song really fits the mood of that afternoon for me, even though it was really beautiful outside. However, he later surprised me with some Italian ice from Miko’s, lifting the mood significantly. Big ups! Okay, back to the music, kids.

  3. I very nearly presented here an exhausting allegory that had to do with the Go-Go’s, but I don’t think it’s as pertinent as I did when I started crafting it up, and I think I should probably save it for a later post, anyway. Big ups to Lara for saying what I was thinking in her first post. The walking (and later, sorta pounding) rhythm really carries us through Heartbreak Ridge in a nice and reassuring (if concurrently/temporarily dismal) way.

  4. Abraham says:

    Ara-Lai: Thanks… the luxurious hangover mood is one that I enjoy on occasion myself. The rhythm was sorta tricky on this one… I was trying a few fancier things, and then I just thought, why not just keep that thing pounding the whole time. As usual, the simpler option turned out to be the better one.

    P M S: Thanks my man. Just keep on pounding through the heartbreak…

  5. Judah says:

    There are things in here that are new for you; I can’t quite put my finger on what they are. A hint of Lucinda Williams. I love the overall uneasiness.

  6. Abraham says:

    I’m glad you like it. I’ll take the Lucinda Williams comparison gladly. I was trying to do a very straightforward song that contained a lot of strangeness at the same time. Seems like that was a lot easier to pull of in the 80s.

  7. Jason says:

    Cool song, I dig it! Nice driving bass + catchy chorus.
    The vocal sound reminds me of Quintron’s mouth mic.
    Rock on!

  8. Abraham says:

    Thanks Jason — good to hear from you. And thanks for the Quintron comparison… that is indie-rock gold!!!

  9. Brahmanist says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Brahmanist.

  10. Abraham says:

    Thanks Brahmanist…. always great to get feedback from across the pond…

Leave a Reply

