The Part You Play

Greetings dudes, and sorry for the late post. Here’s a new song for you, tentatively titled “The Part You Play.” Lyrically, it falls well within my recurring motif of songs about showbiz/Hollywood/actresses (viz. “Celebrity Wedding,” “End of Actress,” “Bad Weather”). The opening couplet, a reworking of the opening line of “You’re So Vain,” was inspired by a recent Vanity Fair article on Carly Simon, Joni Mitchell, and Carole King. The track was also inspired by {SPOILER ALERT: DO NOT READ THE REST OF THIS PARAGRAPH IF YOU’RE IN THE MIDDLE OF WATCHING THE SOPRANOS} the song played as the credits roll on the Sopranos episode where Ade gets whacked. Something about “I loved the part you played.” I went back to listen to it, and it’s not even that great of a song, but it fit the moment well and had an impact on me. What can I say… I’m soft like Charmin. I should also give shout-outs to Spoon, from whom I ripped off the basic groove (see “I Turn My Camera On”) and Van Morrison, from whom I lifted some of the organ solo (see “Youth of 1,000 Summers”). Starbucks-rock… that’s my main influence.

As you can probably guess, the track was recorded in a state of great haste. No background vocals, minimal instrumentation, and a mix that is a bit amateurish. There are pros and cons to this approach, but what I enjoy about it is that the songwriting is forced to stand on its own, rather than hiding behind a slick arrangement. One reason why I laid it down extra-fast (aside from being pressed for time in general) is that, as of last week, it’s already part of the Baby Teeth repertoire. So for once I wasn’t jumping up and down and waving my arms at my bandmates. They already like this one.

Comments
2 Responses to “The Part You Play”
  1. i like it too. i like this version too, especially after hearing the full grown teeth version. great songwriting as always my friend.

  2. Abraham says:

    Thanks Steiny! Yeah, it’s hard to convey the live feel in a demo, but I think it’s a sturdy enough song to survive different interpretations.

Leave a Reply

