Hot Potato Jr.

This week we hop back into the Delorean and travel to the year 1999, where we find my college band, Pearly Sweets and the Platonics, diligently recording our full-length album, Pick Yourself Up. In order to give the album a manly total of fifteen tracks, I supplement the full-band tracks with a few piano-and-vocal numbers. This is my favorite of the bunch, “Hot Potato Jr.”

It clocks in at less than a minute, marrying New Orleans-style piano playing with nonsensical lyrics. I was really into Randy Newman’s early solo records at the time, and I’m sure that contributed to the writing of this number. It also seems like I’m doing some kind of Fats Domino impression on the vocal.  Lyrically though, it’s pretty far out. Or maybe it’s just playful. Playful is good… listening to this one helps me remember that. Songs with ponderous lyrics can be eminently forgettable, while little baubles like this one seem to have a lot more staying power. I’m sure there’s a life lesson in there…. discuss.

Comments
2 Responses to “Hot Potato Jr.”
  1. The Bubble King says:

    YEAH!

    Boy, this band existed in New Haven too? Was Carl in that version? Or was that band never in Chicago like I thought?

    Is this LP available?

  2. Abraham says:

    Glad you liked this one, BB! Yes, there was both a New Haven version (comprised of Carl Ehrhardt, Karl Tupper, and myself), and a Chicago version (comprised of Brian Bosworth, Carl Lowendorf, me, and Karl Tupper/Ben Schultz)…. Lotsa Carls to keep track of, for sure.

    The LP unfortunately is out-of-print, but maybe I’ll throw another hot track up here at some point.

Leave a Reply

