#12

Don’t be fooled by the misleading title of this week’s post, “#12.” It is no more and no less than the fifty-second song posted to this blog! School’s out for summer, my friends! As Kanye might say, “Welcome to graduation.”

As my loyal readers — both of you — probably know, my enthusiasm for this project has ebbed and flowed over the past year. There have been weeks during which I felt like I was undergoing some essential artistic metamorphosis, and other weeks (like this one) during which I felt like I was merely “filling the form,” i.e., providing the service that was required of me, without the aid of any additional artistic stimulation. Both such moods have their place, and I’m sure that will become increasingly clear with a little hindsight. If there’s any theme that’s emerged from this project, it’s the value of hindsight — be it a month, a year, or ten years. Everything always looks different in the ol’ rear-view mirror. Which, I guess, keeps you from getting too ecstatic or too depressed about whatever you’re currently working on.

By sheer coincidence, this is the very week that Baby Teeth are going up to Key Club, a recording studio in Michigan, to record the tracks for our next album, Hustle Beach. The songs we’ll be recording, with very few exceptions, comprise what we feel is the cream of the whole “52 Teeth” project. So in that sense, we can observe the phenomenon that life provides so precious little of in real time: resolution!

Ah, I’m starting to sound like the drunk at the end of the bar. So let’s get on with a bit of commentary. “#12” was the final (and twelfth) track on my 1997 self-released cassette, That’s What All the Girls Say. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, it was a time in my life during which I was heavily under the spell of Randy Newman’s early solo work, and that influence definitely shows in the composition. I still like the lyrics a lot, and the piece as a whole was always intended as a “credits roll” kind of moment, so I think it works as the final post here. The vocals are pretty low in the mix, and I think that, somewhere in the mixing process, the MIDI piano track was moved a split-second apart from the vocal track, which is why all the vocals sound just a bit late. But hey, it worked for Billie Holiday.

Sincere and heartfelt thanks to everyone who’s read this blog over the past year, and particularly to everyone who’s chimed in along the way. Good night and good luck, and much love.

Your man in front of the eMac,

Abraham

Comments
15 Responses to “#12”
  1. Jon says:

    Congrats on a year well spent! Three cheers.

  2. allison says:

    De-lurking to wish you a hearty congratulations on the completion of the year.

  3. I haven’t done much commenting lately and for that I do apologize! I have neglected to listen for the past few weeks. Every time I’ve been at a computer, things have seemed most hectic! Eventually, I declare I’ll get around to finishin’r up. Hoooh!

  4. Kristin says:

    While I rarely commented, I did very much enjoy keeping up with your posts and downloaded every song. I’m actually a little sad this is the end but I very much look forward to the new album and your return to Iowa City (once everything dries up and it stops smelling like a septic tank backed up into our collective yards).

  5. Abraham says:

    Thanks so much guys! It’s been a great thing for me too.

  6. Lara says:

    Farewell, 52 Teeth! I will miss you.

  7. The Bubble King says:

    What a short but long year!

    So what are the chances you’ll embark on the adventure again in the future? I imagine I’d feel burned out on it.

  8. Abraham says:

    Lara: “And I you.” (in voice of 52 Teeth)

    B B King: Right now I would say, HELLS no!!! But hey, never say never. The burnout factor is definitely, well, a factor. For right now I’m happy leaning over my guitar and playing the intro to Johnny B. Goode over and over.

  9. Demo says:

    Congratulations on your fifty-second post! Now I’ll have to find something else to be a few weeks late to. My only regret is that you didn’t post My Together Girl. I’ve always wanted a digital version of that one! I can’t wait to hear the album and track your next stop in cyberspace. Because the interstellar explorers we send out these days…well, they don’t ever stop searching.

  10. Abraham says:

    Thank you Demo! My cyber landing gear is already scanning around looking for suitable ground….

  11. carl says:

    you da man, man!

  12. Abraham says:

    Thanks, dogg!!!

  13. skipwave says:

    Well played, Old Bean! Thanks for a truly worthwhile blog (which is no mean feat by any measure).

    I was so sad to get the email about your solo show last night, when I checked my inbox this morning. Now looking forward to Baby Teeth shows in the coming months. The prospect of hearing “The Part You Play” live is mmmmm-hmm.

    #12 seemed like an eerily appropriate closer. Like pulling the chain on a bare bulb and closing the door behind you.

  14. Abraham says:

    Thank you my friend. Yes, I know that 24 hours’ notice for a show is a bit harsh. Would have been good to see you.

    Glad you found “#12” appropriate. I’m a sentimental one, and it seemed like the right move by my own melodramatic standards.

    Hope to see you soon!

  15. Hey, I really like this article a lot. Keep the articles coming, pal! 🙂

Leave a Reply

