Feel It Anyway

My New Year’s resolution is to have more patience (there’s my Guns N’ Roses obsession again), with myself and others.  I get so impatient so many times every day, my practice opportunities are almost limitless.  Over the weekend, Lara and I attempted to construct a large IKEA bookshelf called the Bergsbo.  (This was our Friday night, if you must know.)  We got pretty deep into it before realizing that IKEA had included the wrong wall-mounting brackets.  Now I don’t know about you, but I despise putting together IKEA furniture, and I was counting on completing it that night and never having to think about it again.  Staring at those evil wall-mounting brackets, I felt the hot bile of impatience and life’s-not-fair and I-hate-Swedish-meatballs.  But hey, that’s how it was supposed to go down, right?  The experience was far from perfect, and less than ideal, but what are you gonna do?  Leave your own body and pretend it isn’t happening?  No, my friends!  “Feel It Anyway.”

In a track I posted last month, “Space,” there was a lyric, “Perfect could be enemy of the good / It took half my life.”  A little melodramatic, but a similar idea to the lyrics of this tune.  You can’t opt out of life every time things are less than perfect — good, decent, mediocre, or terrible.  You’re there through all of it.  Feel it anyway!  Sorry, it’s still early in the morning and now I’m getting preachy.

I got to play lots of amateurish guitar on this track, and that always makes me happy.  My three guitar sounds, brought to you by GarageBand, were Liverpool Bright, Indie Fuzz, and Dublin Delay (aka, The Edge).  Because I was diving into a dirty, 90’s-indie-rock kind of aesthetic, I subconsciously started singing like Eric Bachmann from Archers of Loaf.  You can hear my nasal approach to some of the vowels.  (I’ve often used the preceding sentence as a pickup line.)

The melody of the hook (kicking in at around 1:20) is out of the Elvis Costello playbook — sitting on the ninth for a moment and then hopping back down to the octave.  (See the line “But there’s no daaaan-ger” in “Oliver’s Army.”)  Of course, he probably stole it from Chopin.  All of us musicians are kleptomaniacs.

Comments
6 Responses to “Feel It Anyway”
  1. Saint Aubini says:

    I’ve had three conversations in the past month with three different people involving the inadequacies of Ikea. One of which involved an admission of the all to familiar second Ikea trip to return insufficient merchandise. However your point, a philosophical one indeed, about absorbing consequences of a moment, good or bad is cathartic. Well done Abe.

  2. Abraham says:

    Second trip? We made three trips! And still waiting for replacement parts…. Thanks Saint Aubini, glad you liked the tune.

  3. Your song assembling was successful, even if your furniture assembling was not. I’m a sucker for songs starting with a heavily distorted guitar and clean vocal (see Burning Airlines “Outside the Aviary”).

    Garageband does have the guitar tone emulator down. I have an older version of GB, which doesn’t have the Edge inspired delay-bath (so useful), but does have one called English Channel. It sounds frighteningly close to my real life, space hogging 60W tube head and 2×12 cabinet. I dare not consider the implication that I might be able to get rid of some bulky equipment and replace it with weightless software. No knobs to turn. Oh, horrors!

  4. Abraham says:

    Yes, the Garageband emulators are lots of fun. I heard an interview with Iggy Pop recently where he was bemoaning that guitar sounds are now (due to emulation) more like fashion statements — just as easy to acquire as a new shirt. I was thinking, “Wait… is Iggy Pop mad at me?”

  5. Ahh, such sweet and fuzzy sounds as hath never emanated from ChicagoPianos.com before…

    I filled in the blanks mentally on what I thought might be added to this song for the final orchestrated album edition, I hope that’s okay.

  6. Abraham says:

    I’m sorry, that’s an intellectual-property violation. I’ll see you in court, sucka!!

Leave a Reply

