Too Hot to Rock

Something in the air today made me want to make some STOOPID electro-rock, so here is this week’s entry, “Too Hot to Rock.”  Lara asked me if this was meant as a tribute to LCD Soundsystem.  Hm…. well, maybe so.  I can’t say that I’m a devoted fan or anything, but I did enjoy the recent profile of James Murphy in the New Yorker, particularly when he said something to the effect of, “I’ve always liked making music — it’s just that I’m not very original.”  I could relate to that!

The lyrics to this probing number tell the devastating L.A. story of a budding starlet who, having achieved a degree of burgeoning celebrity, abandons her old friends with whom she used to go clubbing.  This song is from the perspective of one of those jilted acquaintances.  In the process of telling this cruel saga, the song quotes from Bobby Brown’s Ghostbusters 2 theme, “Too Pooped to Pop” by Chuck Berry, “Don’t Bring Me Down” by E.L.O., and Van Hagar’s “Right Now” (ewwww).

Enjoy?

Comments
4 Responses to “Too Hot to Rock”
  1. Is it strange I drew in-brain-comparisons both to “All Stripped Down” by Tom Waits and a handful of tracks (“Extra Krispy,” “Dashiki Lover,” “Creepy”) from Mono Puff’s second album? This is a hot dance-floor tune-in-waiting, I am surprised there weren’t more comments about it. Much love.

  2. Abraham says:

    Strange, only in the sense that I haven’t heard any of these songs — not even the TW tune! Very glad you liked this one… it was kind of an ugly duckling as far as comment response was concerned, so, doubly appreciated!

  3. That’s exactly why I asked whether it might be strange! Mono Puff is a side project of John Flansburgh from They Might Be Giants; I don’t think there’s been a new Mono Puff record in like 12 years. All of the songs I cited are on said most recent record, IT’S FUN TO STEAL (the only one I have). “All Stripped Down” is on the 1992 Tom Waits record BONE MACHINE, which is one of my 10 favorite Tom Waits records (a silly way of saying that the ones I have are all my favorites).

  4. Abraham says:

    Thank you for broadening my horizons as always, P M S.

Leave a Reply

